Navigation mit Access Keys

SLF HomeAvalanches

Avalanches

Main menu

 

Avalanches are a fascinating, but above all else, a supremely dangerous phenomenon. Research into avalanche formation, dynamics and protection is therefore a key part of our remit. By issuing avalanche warnings for the Swiss Alps, we perform an important national service.

 

Nowadays, we have a good understanding of how avalanches form. This enables us to publish reliable avalanche bulletins for the benefit of safety officers in ski resorts and local authorities, as well as backcountry skiers, freeriders and snowshoe hikers.

However, we cannot yet predict in detail exactly why, when and where an avalanche will be triggered. We conduct laboratory and field research into how weak layers are generated in the snowpack, how fractures form and propagate in them and how the snowpack eventually begins to slide – in other words, how avalanches form and release.

Complex physical processes are at work inside an avalanche. To be able to accurately assess the scale and destructiveness of avalanches, we have to understand these processes. We therefore need to be able to see inside avalanches. Our Vallée de la Sionne avalanche test site at Arbaz in the canton of Valais has been operating since 1997. The only facility of its kind in the world, it has technical equipment that allows us to gain just this kind of insight. The data collected helps us, among other things, to develop and improve avalanche simulation programs, which are used by engineers worldwide to assess hazards and design protection measures.

Villages and roads can be protected from avalanches in a variety of ways. Refraining from building in vulnerable areas, preventing avalanche formation by planting forestry or erecting barriers, minimising avalanche impact by means of protective structures such as snow sheds, and artificially triggering avalanches using explosives before too much snow has accumulated are just a few of the possibilities. We investigate how these different approaches work and how they can best be combined, including from an economic and legal perspective.

Last but not least, we also examine avalanche accidents involving snow sports enthusiasts in open terrain, to learn lessons for future prevention.

 

Topics

Schneebrett

Avalanche formation

Whether an avalanche occurs depends to a large extent on the structure of the snowpack. We investigate the processes at work in the formation of an...

Erforschung Lawinendynamik

Avalanche dynamics

To assess avalanche danger accurately, we need to understand what goes on inside an avalanche. This allows us to calculate how far it will travel and...

Abseits der Piste

Avalanche science and prevention

Most avalanche accidents happen off-piste. Preventive behaviour is required to reduce the avalanche risk to an acceptable level.

Lawinenbulletin

Avalanche warning

The SLF is responsible for providing an avalanche warning service on behalf of the Swiss federal government. The avalanche bulletin is compiled and...

Image: Stefan Margreth/ SLF

Avalanche protection

Protecting settlements and transport routes from avalanches is indispensable for life in the Alps. We assist planners and authorities with essential...

Lawinenunfall

Destructive avalanches and avalanche accidents

We keep a detailed database of avalanche events. Winter reports and accident analyses are a long-standing part of the SLF’s work.

 

News

Rupperslaui, January 2017

Detailed description of the weather, snowpack and avalanche danger during the preceding hydrological year (October 2016 to September 2017).

This wet slab avalanche (outlined in red) swept away two climbers as they were descending the Zinalrothorn on June 19, 2014. They plunged several hundred metres down a rock face and were dead when rescuers arrived. (Photo: B. Jelk)

Even in summer, avalanches pose a threat in some parts of the Swiss Alps. To prevent accidents, a few rules should be followed in the mountains.

During its General Assembly, the EAWS defined guidelines governing votes and elections. Photo: EAWS

The avalanche warning services operating in Europe have undertaken to develop common standards for their activities. Their General Assembly recently...

Starting zone of the ice avalanche in the Tibetan Plateau. Photo: Wentao Hu

A Chinese researcher is currently working at the SLF for a month. Using simulation software developed by SLF, he is learning how to improve...

Navigation mit Access Keys

Avalanches

Menu principal

 

Les avalanches sont un phénomène fascinant, mais avant tout dangereux. Les études sur leur formation, leur dynamique et la protection contre leurs effets font donc partie de nos tâches essentielles. Avec les prévisions d’avalanches pour les Alpes suisses, nous assurons une mission nationale d’importance.

 

Nous comprenons bien aujourd’hui comment les avalanches se forment. Cela nous permet, dans les bulletins d’avalanches que nous publions, d’informer de manière fiable sur le danger d’avalanches les responsables de la sécurité sur les domaines skiables et les communes, ainsi que les randonneurs, skieurs hors-pistes et raquetteurs.

Mais il n’est pas encore possible de prévoir pourquoi, quand et où une avalanche donnée se déclenche. Nous étudions en laboratoire et sur le terrain comment les couches fragiles se forment dans le manteau neigeux, comment les ruptures s’y amorcent et s’y propagent et comment le manteau neigeux finit par glisser, donc comment les avalanches se produisent.

Au sein d’une avalanche, des processus physiques complexes se déroulent. Nous devons les comprendre pour pouvoir évaluer correctement la portée et la capacité de destruction des avalanches. Nous avons donc besoin de pénétrer au cœur même des avalanches. Depuis 1997, nous exploitons dans la vallée de la Sionne (commune d’Arbaz, VS) un site d’expérimentation unique au monde pour les avalanches, dont les appareils techniques nous permettent de visualiser ce qui se passe au sein de l’avalanche. Les données collectées nous aident entre autres à développer et améliorer les programmes de simulation d’avalanches. Ils sont utilisés par des ingénieurs dans le monde entier pour évaluer les dangers et planifier les mesures de protection.

Les villages et les routes peuvent être protégés des avalanches de bien des manières – éviter les zones menacées, prévenir la formation des avalanches grâce à la forêt ou à des ouvrages de retenue, minimiser leurs effets par des ouvrages de protection comme des galeries, ou encore déclencher les avalanches par des minages avant que trop de neige ne s’accumule : ce ne sont que quelques-unes des possibilités. Nous étudions comment ces différentes approches agissent et comment les combiner au mieux. Par la même occasion, nous nous penchons sur les aspects économiques ou juridiques.

Et pour finir, nous examinons également les accidents d’avalanches des amateurs de sports de neige en terrain non sécurisé, pour en tirer des enseignements pour la prévention.

 

Thèmes

Erforschung Lawinendynamik

Dynamique des avalanches

Pour évaluer correctement le danger d’avalanches, nous devons comprendre la vie interne de ces phénomènes.

Abseits der Piste

Nivologie et prévention

La plupart des accidents d’avalanche se produisent en dehors des pistes sécurisées. Pour les amatrices et amateurs de sports d’hiver, ce sont ...

Lawinenbulletin

Prévision d’avalanches

Les avalanches sont l’un des dangers naturels les plus importants des montagnes. Le SLF informe de la situation nivologique et avalancheuse du moment.

Image: Stefan Margreth/ SLF

Protection contre les avalanches

Nous assistons les planificateurs et les autorités grâce à des connaissances fondamentales et des rapports d’expertise.

Lawinenunfall

Accidents et avalanches provoquant des dommages

Nous saisissons les détails des phénomènes avalancheux dans une banque de données.

 

Schneebrett

Genèse des avalanches

Nous étudions les processus de genèse des avalanches et contribuons ainsi à améliorer leur prédictibilité.

 

Actuel

Informations sur la météo, le manteau neigeux, et sur plusieurs accidents ayant entraîné des dommages corporels et matériels (en allemand).

Cette avalanche de plaque de neige mouillée (entourée en rouge) a emporté deux personnes le 19 juin 2014 lors de leur descente du Zinalrothorn. Les alpinistes ont fait une chute de plusieurs centaines de mètres sur une paroi rocheuse et étaient morts lorsqu’ils ont été retrouvés. (Photo: B. Jelk)

Même en été, un danger d’avalanche peut prévaloir dans certaines parties des Alpes suisses. Il convient dès lors de respecter quelques règles.

Pendant l’assemblée générale, l’EAWS a défini des règles pour les décisions et les votes. Photo: EAWS

Les services de prévision d’avalanches se sont donné comme objectif de définir des normes communes dans leur activité. Lors de leur assemblée...

Zone de départ de l’avalanche de glace dans les montagnes tibétaines. Photo : Wentao Hu

Un chercheur chinois passe actuellement un mois au SLF. Son objectif : apprendre à mieux évaluer le risque d’avalanches de glace sur les hauts...