Navigation mit Access Keys

Monitoring

Main menu

 

Since 1996, we have instrumented boreholes at more than twenty permafrost locations in the Swiss Alps. Our permafrost measurement network provides essential information about the state of the permafrost and helps to understand the complex interactions between the ground surface and the underlying substrate.

 

Most of the boreholes are located in ice-bearing scree slopes, rock walls and rock glaciers and in the immediate vicinity of buildings and other structures at high elevations. We measure the temperatures inside the boreholes, as well as at the ground surface. We often gather data on snow depth, air temperature and radiation from an automatic weather station nearby. SLF’s measurement network extends over large parts of the Swiss Alps and is partly incorporated into PERMOS, the Swiss Permafrost Monitoring Network.
The measurements are used to study the impact of the climate on permanently frozen ground and improve the forecasting of events such as natural hazards or damage to structures. We examine the depth of the active layer, the thermal regime of the permafrost and the intensity of slope movements. As well as looking at long-term changes, we also record and analyse the impact of extreme events, such as the summer 2015 heat wave. We need these data in order to simulate future ground temperature patterns with numeric models. Such analysis requires long, high-quality data series with as few gaps as possible. This is a major challenge for the manufacturers of measuring instruments, since instruments at high elevations are exposed to harsh conditions – including cold, snow pressure, avalanches, lightning and rockfall.

Response time in the ground

We compare the permafrost temperatures at the various locations at depths of at least 10 m, where they are not influenced by factors near the surface, such as daily fluctuations in temperature. At this depth, it takes around six months for a response to seasonal influences at the ground surface to be registered. This means that at a depth of 10 m, the response to the summer’s conditions will only be seen the following winter. Depending on the elevation and the local conditions, the temperatures measured at a depth of 10 m are more or less between -3°C and 0°C. Alongside air temperature and radiation, snow distribution has a major influence on the ground surface temperature: snowy winters induce higher ground temperatures, while less snow makes for lower ground temperatures.

Impact of climate change on permafrost

It is difficult to make general assertions about the state of the permafrost in the Alps because ground temperatures and ice content can vary greatly depending on the location and the local conditions. Nevertheless, it has been confirmed that the permafrost is warming, and that this is causing ice loss, slope movements and infrastructure instability in some places. This trend is especially pronounced in rock walls: since they have good heat transfer properties, they respond more quickly and more directly to changes in the climate than e.g. scree slopes. Extremely hot summers may accelerate this development considerably.

  

FURTHER INFORMATION

Navigation mit Access Keys

Monitoring

Hauptinhalt

 

Seit 1996 haben wir an über zwanzig Standorten in den Schweizer Alpen Bohrlöcher im Permafrost mit Messinstrumenten ausgerüstet. Das Permafrost-Messnetz liefert wichtige Informationen über den Zustand der Permafrostböden und hilft, die komplexen Vorgänge zwischen Oberfläche und Untergrund besser zu verstehen.

 

Die Bohrlöcher befinden sich mehrheitlich in eishaltigen Schutthalden, Felswänden und Blockgletschern sowie in der unmittelbaren Nähe von Bauten im Hochgebirge. Wir messen sowohl in den Bohrlöchern als auch an der Bodenoberfläche die Temperaturen. Oft erfassen wir in der Nähe mit einer automatischen Wetterstation Daten zu Schneehöhe, Lufttemperatur und Strahlung. Das SLF-Messnetz erstreckt sich über grosse Teile der Schweizer Alpen und ist teils in das Schweizer Permafrost-Messnetzes PERMOS eingegliedert.

Die Messungen dienen dazu, die Einflüsse des Klimas auf ständig gefrorene Böden zu untersuchen und Ereignisse wie Naturgefahren oder Schäden an Bauten besser vorauszusagen. Wir untersuchen die Mächtigkeit der Auftauschicht, den thermischen Zustand des Permafrosts und die Intensität von Hangbewegungen. Neben langfristigen Änderungen registrieren und analysieren wir auch Einflüsse von Extremereignissen wie den des Hitzesommers 2015. Wir benötigen diese Daten, um zukünftige Temperaturentwicklungen im Boden mit numerischen Modellen zu simulieren. Für die Analysen brauchen wir lange, möglichst lückenlose und qualitativ einwandfreie Datenreihen. Dies ist eine grosse Herausforderung für die Entwickler der Messinstrumente, da diese im Hochgebirge grossen Belastungen wie Kälte, Schneedruck, Lawinen, Blitz oder Steinschlag ausgesetzt sind.

Reaktionszeit im Boden

Wir vergleichen die Permafrosttemperaturen der verschiedenen Standorte in einer Tiefe von mindestens 10 m, um oberflächennahe Einflüsse wie z.B. tägliche Temperaturschwankungen auszuschliessen. In dieser Tiefe beträgt die Reaktionszeit der saisonalen Einflüsse an der Bodenoberfläche etwa sechs Monate. Das heisst, dass das Signal des Sommers erst im Laufe des nächsten Winters in 10 m Tiefe registriert wird. Die gemessenen Temperaturen in 10 m Tiefe befinden sich je nach Höhenlage und lokalen Verhältnissen stets zwischen ca. -3°C und 0°C. Neben Lufttemperatur und Strahlung beeinflusst vor allem die Schneeverteilung die Temperatur an der Bodenoberfläche: Schneereiche Winter führen zu höheren Bodentemperaturen, schneearme Winter lassen den Boden abkühlen.

Einfluss des Klimas auf den Permafrost

Es ist schwierig, eine Verallgemeinerung zum Zustand des Permafrosts in den Alpen zu erstellen, da sich die Bodentemperaturen und Eisgehalte je nach Standort und lokalen Verhältnissen sehr unterschiedlich entwickeln können. Bestätigt ist jedoch, dass sich der Permafrost tendenziell erwärmt und dass diese Erwärmung an einigen Orten zu Eisverlusten, Hangbewegungen und Instabilitäten von Bauten im Hochgebirge führt. Besonders betroffen davon sind Felswände, da diese aufgrund ihrer guten Wärmeleitfähigkeit schneller und direkter auf Klimaänderungen reagieren als z.B. Schutthalden. Extreme Hitzesommer können diese Entwicklung deutlich beschleunigen.

 

Themen

Monitoring Schottensee

Das SLF misst in zwei Bohrlöchern am Flüelapass Bodentemperaturen in verschiedenen Tiefen und konnte so die Existenz von Permafrost bestätigen.

 

Forschungsgruppe

Permafrost und Schneeklimatologie

Das Team "Permafrost und Schneeklimatologie" untersucht die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Permafrost, Bauwerken und der Schneedecke.

 

Weiterführende Informationen