Navigation mit Access Keys

Ruth Moor-Huber, Gadmen (BE)

Main menu

  
  • Married with three adult children and 10 grandchildren
  • Municipal employee
  • SLF observer since 1988
 

As an observer, what is it exactly that you report?

I look after a measuring site that was established many years ago. It's situated just a few steps from our house in Gadmen. I measure the snow every day from 1 November until 30 April – its depth, the amount of fresh snow, the snow's water equivalent etc. I also report any avalanche observations.

How did you become an SLF observer?

My neighbour monitored the measuring site from 1954 until 1988. When she moved away, she asked me if I would take on the job. At the time, I didn't have any children and I was a housewife, so it was ideal. It was only a small job at first – recording the snow depth and amount of fresh snow in a form every day and sending the entered data to the SLF every two weeks. When the measuring programme was expanded later on, the amount of work increased. To file my readings I had to dial 110 and report the measurements orally using a special numerical code. It was a very specific routine. Then, in the mid-1990s, we switched to computers.

What do you like about this task?

It's interesting to observe how the snow quantities change throughout the winter. Gadmen is situated 1200 m above sea level and there's always snow here. We're also surrounded by avalanche-prone slopes. As a consequence, we're sometimes cut off from the outside world. My husband is a member of the municipal avalanche commission, which means he's interested in the data measurements as well.

Which aspects are less enjoyable/do you find tiresome?

It's always a relief when spring arrives. Performing measurements and reporting the results by 7.30 am every day for six months entails a commitment. I make certain that there are never any gaps – that's important to me.

What does it mean to you to be an observer?

The station has been here for such a long time that it simply has to continue. For as long as I enjoy the role, I won't think about stopping.

How easy is it to combine this task with your other work?

It's easy. Since my regular workplace is in Gadmen, I am able to take the daily measurements in the early morning.

What has been your most memorable experience relating to snow and avalanches?

The extreme winter of 1999, without question. There was so much snow that the three-metre gauge on the measuring site was completely buried. In view of the high avalanche danger, we were evacuated and spent five days in an army barracks. Avalanches caused damage in the valley, but compared to other regions we emerged relatively unscathed.

What is the personal connection between you and snow?

I grew up with snow; it's part of who I am. Winters were much more severe when I was younger. Downhill and cross-country skiing are popular here, but there aren’t many other options.

How do you like to spend your evenings/leisure time?

I enjoy looking after the grandchildren. My large family is very important to me. Skiing is another of my pleasures, and I like lazy get-togethers with friends. I also volunteer with the Samaritans and I'm a member of the First Responder team in my community.

Which is your favourite place in the world?

There’s nowhere in particular – it’s lovely everywhere, each place in its own way.

And your favourite season?

I like all of the seasons, but autumn is the best. The colours of nature create a wonderful atmosphere. We also have very little fog, and the weather here is often still mild.

Is there anything you couldn't live without?

My family and my surroundings. I couldn’t imagine moving to a town or city. I was born and raised in Gadmen – this is where I’m at home.

The SLF is celebrating the 75th anniversary of the avalanche bulletin. What does that mean to you?

The SLF plays a very important role and is a well-known institution. People always consult the avalanche bulletin before undertaking a ski tour. When the roads here have to be closed because of the avalanche danger, we are cut off from the rest of the world. The SLF is a source of knowledge.

Navigation mit Access Keys

Ruth Moor-Huber, Gadmen (BE)

Menu principal

  
  • Mariée, 3 enfants adultes et 10 petits-enfants
  • Employée municipale
  • Observatrice du SLF depuis 1988
 

Que mesures-tu ou que signales-tu en tant qu’observateur?

Je suis responsable d'un site de mesure à long terme. Il n'est qu'à quelques pas de notre maison à Gadmen. Je mesure la neige tous les jours du 1er novembre au 30 avril: hauteur, neige fraîche, teneur en eau, etc. Je transmets également les observations d'avalanches.

Comment es-tu devenu observateur?

Ma voisine s'est occupée de la station de mesure de 1954 à 1988. Lorsqu'elle a déménagé, elle m'a demandé si je voulais reprendre le poste. À l'époque, mes enfants étaient petits et j'étais femme au foyer, c'était donc idéal. Au début, ce n'était qu'une petite tâche: saisir chaque jour la hauteur de neige et la quantité de neige fraîche dans un formulaire et envoyer les données recueillies au SLF toutes les deux semaines. Ultérieurement, lorsque le programme de mesures a été complété, la charge de travail a augmenté. Pour envoyer mes observations, je devais alors appeler le numéro de téléphone 110 et transmettre verbalement mes mesures selon un certain code numérique. C'était très particulier. Au milieu des années 1990, nous sommes passés à l'ordinateur.

Qu'est-ce qui te plaît dans le travail d'observateur?

Il est intéressant d'observer comment les hauteurs de neige évoluent au cours de l'hiver. Gadmen est situé à 1200 m d'altitude, il y a toujours de la neige et nous sommes entourés de versants avalancheux. Nous sommes donc parfois coupés du reste du monde. Mon mari fait partie de la commission avalanches de la commune. Les données mesurées sont également intéressantes pour lui.

Qu'est-ce qui ne te plaît pas?

Je me réjouis toujours du retour du printemps. Effectuer des mesures tous les jours pendant six mois et les envoyer avant sept heures et demie du matin constitue une certaine contrainte. Je m'assure d'éviter toute lacune, c'est important pour moi.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour toi d'être observateur? 

La station existe depuis si longtemps, il est donc important qu'elle continue d'exister. Tant que j'y trouve du plaisir, il n'est pas question d'arrêter.

Dans quelle mesure peux-tu concilier la tâche d'observateur avec d'autres activités (travail, loisirs, …)? 

Bien. Comme je travaille à Gadmen, je peux prendre les mesures quotidiennes tôt le matin.

Quelle a été ton expérience la plus impressionnante en rapport avec la neige et les avalanches?

Ce fut certainement l'hiver avalancheux de 1999. Il y avait tellement de neige que la perche graduée de trois mètres de haut n'était plus visible sur le site de mesure. En raison du grand danger d'avalanches, nous avons été évacués et avons dû passer cinq jours dans un hébergement de l'armée. Dans la vallée, les avalanches ont causé des dégâts. Mais nous nous en sommes relativement bien sortis ici, contrairement à d'autres régions.

Qu'est-ce qui t'associe à la neige?

J'ai grandi avec, la neige fait tout simplement partie de ma vie. Autrefois, les hivers étaient encore beaucoup plus rigoureux. Ici, à part le ski de piste ou de fond, il n'y a pas tant de possibilités.

Qu'est-ce que tu aimes faire après le travail / pour tes loisirs?

J'aime m'occuper de mes petits-enfants. J'ai une grande famille qui est très importante pour moi. J'aime aussi faire du ski ou profiter d'une soirée confortable avec des amis. De plus, je suis impliquée dans l'association des Samaritains et je suis membre des First Responder.

Quel est ton endroit préféré au monde et pourquoi?

Je n'en ai pas vraiment, chaque lieu a son propre charme.

Quelle est ta saison préférée?

J'aime toutes les saisons, mais la plus belle est l'automne. La nature est colorée et l'ambiance magnifique. Nous avons aussi peu de brouillard et souvent il fait encore doux.

Une chose dont tu ne peux pas te passer?

Ma famille et mon environnement. Je ne pourrais pas imaginer déménager dans une ville. Je suis née et j'ai grandi à Gadmen, je suis ici chez moi.

Le SLF célèbre les 75 ans du bulletin d'avalanches. Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour toi?

Le SLF a une tâche très importante et il est connu de beaucoup de gens. On vérifie toujours le bulletin d'avalanches avant de partir en randonnée à ski. Lorsque nos routes doivent être fermées en raison d'un danger d'avalanches, nous sommes coupés du monde extérieur et nous pouvons alors obtenir des informations du SLF.