Navigation mit Access Keys

Jon-Andri Bisaz, Celerina (GR)

Main menu

  
  • Married with two adult children
  • A former forester, now working in an engineering office and as a self-employed avalanche service consultant in the Upper Engadine
  • SLF observer since 2017
 

As an observer, what is it exactly that you report?

I am a regional observer; my reports span the entire Upper Engadine. One of my regular tasks is to produce snow profiles on a slope in the field.

How did you become an SLF observer?

For a long time before I became an observer, I was frequently reporting assessments and observations to the SLF. Then the Avalanche Warning Service asked if I would like to file official reports as an observer.

What do you like about this task?

I enjoy the close collaboration with the Avalanche Warning Service. There are rewards for both parties. On the one hand, the service benefits from my observations, and on the other, I am better informed because of the close contact we have. This lively interaction is also useful in the work I perform for the avalanche service.

Which aspects are less enjoyable/do you find tiresome?

Things become difficult when we have a critical avalanche situation here in the Upper Engadine. That's when I have a huge workload with the avalanche service. Continuing to file reports with the SLF at such times is a big challenge. But reverse situations can be difficult as well. A high-pressure weather system lasting for weeks on end is also tiresome because then there is little to report.

What does it mean to you to be an observer?

I associate a certain amount of pride with the job. I am proud to be part of the team and to play a useful role.

How easy is it to combine this task with your other work?

It's very easy. I undertake evaluations for the avalanche service every day, for clients such as the civil engineering authority or the Rhaetian Railway. The additional work I perform as an observer requires relatively little input.

What has been your most memorable experience relating to snow and avalanches?

There was one winter, six or seven years ago, when we had extreme amounts of snow for a long period. The highest values previously recorded in the measurement series were far exceeded. It was a very challenging time for me because I knew what was coming next. In view of the enormous quantities of snow, even large-sized avalanches were a distinct possibility. There's no call for panic in such situations of course, but decisions have to be taken, such as whether or not a road needs to be closed. Fortunately, there were no very large avalanches, but the potential certainly existed.

What is the personal connection between you and snow?

I'm fascinated by the substance and the way in which it continuously changes. No sooner is one aspect understood than new topics arise. I expect the phenomenon of gliding avalanches will continue to hold much of our attention for the next few years.

How do you like to spend your evenings/leisure time?

In wintertime my pastimes include giving skiing lessons, as well as downhill and backcountry skiing. In the summer I enjoy cycling and sailing. My favourite haunt is Lake Como because it's a lot warmer there than here in the Engadine.

Which is your favourite place in the world?

In these parts it has to be Muottas Muragl – a gorgeous region. The views are simply spectacular. It's a great feeling up there on the summit, and I enjoy observing the landscape.

And your favourite season?

I like all of the seasons and the infinite recurrence of nature's rhythms. I wouldn't want to live in the Tropics or anywhere like that.

Is there anything you couldn't live without?

My family and nature are paramount. All the things I like doing take place outdoors.

The SLF is celebrating the 75th anniversary of the avalanche bulletin. What does that mean to you?

That means a lot to me. As an institution, the SLF has been instrumental in enabling people to live as safely as possible in the mountains and in fostering tourism there as well.

Navigation mit Access Keys

Jon-Andri Bisaz, Celerina (GR)

Menu principal

  
  • Marié, deux enfants adultes
  • Ancien forestier, aujourd'hui employé dans un bureau d'ingénieurs et consultant indépendant pour les avalanches en Haute-Engadine
  • Observateur du SLF depuis 2017
 

Que mesures-tu ou que signales-tu en tant qu’observateur?

Je suis un observateur régional et j'envoie des observations pour toute la Haute-Engadine. Une de mes tâches consiste à faire régulièrement des profils de neige sur un versant.

Comment es-tu devenu observateur?

Bien avant de devenir observateur, j'envoyais régulièrement des évaluations et des observations au SLF. Le service de prévision d'avalanches m'a alors demandé si je voulais participer officiellement en tant qu'observateur.

Qu'est-ce qui te plaît dans le travail d'observateur?

J'aime la coopération étroite avec le service de prévision d'avalanches. Il s'agit d'une valeur ajoutée pour les deux parties. D'une part, je fournis au service de prévision d'avalanches mes observations, d'autre part, je suis mieux informé grâce au contact permanent. J'ai bénéficié de ces échanges continus dans le cadre de mon travail pour le service des avalanches.

Qu'est-ce qui ne te plaît pas?

C'est difficile lorsque nous avons une situation critique d'avalanche en Haute-Engadine. J'ai alors beaucoup à faire avec le service de prévention d'avalanches. Faire mes rapports au SLF dans de telles situations est très difficile. Mais l'inverse peut aussi être vrai. Lorsque nous sommes en conditions anticycloniques pendant des semaines, on s'ennuie, car il n'y a pas grand-chose à signaler.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour toi d'être observateur? 

Cette mission me donne une certaine fierté: faire partie d'une équipe qui a besoin de moi.

Dans quelle mesure peux-tu concilier la tâche d'observateur avec d'autres activités (travail, loisirs, …)? 

Très bien. Je fais des évaluations tous les jours pour le service de prévention d'avalanches, par exemple pour le service des travaux publics ou le Chemin de fer rhétique. Le travail supplémentaire que je dois accomplir en tant qu'observateur est proportionné.

Quelle a été ton expérience la plus impressionnante en rapport avec la neige et les avalanches?

Il y a six ou sept ans, nous avons eu une neige extrêmement abondante au cours de l'hiver. Les valeurs maximales observées depuis le début des mesures ont été largement dépassées. Cela a représenté pour moi un véritable défi, parce que je ne savais pas à quoi nous devions nous attendre. Avec cette énorme quantité de neige, on pouvait avoir aussi de grandes avalanches. Néanmoins, dans de telles situations, il ne faut bien sûr pas paniquer et décider, par exemple, si une route doit être fermée. Heureusement, il n'y a pas eu de très grandes avalanches. Mais le potentiel était là.

Qu'est-ce qui t'associe à la neige?

Je suis fasciné par ce matériau en constante évolution. À peine a-t-on compris quelque chose que de nouvelles questions surgissent. Je pense que les avalanches de glissement nous occuperont beaucoup dans les prochaines années.

Qu'est-ce que tu aimes faire après le travail / pour tes loisirs?

En hiver, je donne des cours de ski pendant mon temps libre, je fais moi-même du ski de piste ou de randonnée. En été, j'aime faire du vélo ou de la voile. De préférence sur le lac de Côme, car il y fait beaucoup plus chaud qu'ici en Engadine.

Quel est ton endroit préféré au monde et pourquoi?

Ici, dans cette région, c'est Muottas Muragl, un endroit magnifique. La vue est tout simplement spectaculaire. Je me sens à l'aise là-haut et j'aime regarder le paysage.

Quelle est ta saison préférée?

J'aime toutes les saisons, le retour sans fin des rythmes naturels. Je n'aimerais vraiment pas vivre dans une région comme les tropiques.

Une chose dont tu ne peux pas te passer?

Jene pourrais pas me passer de ma famille et de la nature. Tout ce que j'aime faire se passe à l'extérieur, en plein air.

Le SLF célèbre les 75 ans du bulletin d'avalanches. Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour toi?

Cela signifie beaucoup pour moi. Le SLF est un institut qui a beaucoup fait pour que la sécurité des populations montagnardes soit la plus haute possible et qu'il puisse exister un tourisme de montagne.