Navigation mit Access Keys

Survey on the subdivision of the danger levels

Main menu


03.03.2023  |  Frank Techel  |  News SLF


Since this winter, the SLF has been subdividing the danger levels with intermediate levels. What do skihikers and freeriders think of this? The avalanche warning service would like to know and asks the target group to fill out a questionnaire.

This text was automatically translated.


The avalanche danger scale is uniform throughout Europe, but with its 5 levels it is quite rough. Therefore, the SLF has introduced intermediate levels for this winter. The new system uses -, =, and + to indicate whether the avalanche danger lies in the lower range, in the middle or in the upper range of the indicated danger level.

How is the new system received by skihikers and freeriders? Does it offer any added value? And is it really understood at all? To find out, the avalanche warning service is asking users of the avalanche bulletin to take part in a short online survey. It takes about ten minutes to complete. The answers help us to improve the avalanche bulletin and adapt it to the needs.