Navigation mit Access Keys

SLF HomePermafrost

Permafrost

Main menu

 

The term ‘permafrost’ refers to permanently frozen ground. If it thaws, there is a risk of natural hazards like rockfalls or debris flows. Our research in permafrost regions supplies us with vital information about the state of the permafrost. Our aim is to gain a better understanding of the processes affecting it and to detect risks at an early stage.

 

The term ‘permafrost’ describes ground – such as rock, debris or moraine – that is permanently below a temperature of 0°C. In summer, the topmost layer of the ground above the permafrost warms up to above 0°C. This is known as the active layer. Permafrost covers some 5% of Switzerland’s territory and is mainly found in scree slopes and rock walls in cold locations at elevations above 2,500 metres. It is not so much the air temperature as the ground surface temperature that determines whether permafrost is present. Solar radiation and the depth and duration of snow cover all have a substantial impact on the ground surface temperature. Although permafrost is not immediately visible, there are some landforms that can indicate its presence, such as rock glaciers. 

Data from boreholes

Since 1996, we have drilled boreholes at more than twenty permafrost sites in the Swiss Alps. We have fitted these boreholes with thermometers and are investigating the snow cover. The permafrost measurement network run by the WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF provides essential information about the state of the permafrost and helps to understand the complex interactions between the ground surface and the underlying substrate. Nine of SLF’s boreholes are part of the Swiss Permafrost Monitoring Network, PERMOS, which is responsible for monitoring permafrost throughout Switzerland. We also use various measuring devices to collect information about the dynamics of rock walls and rock glaciers.

Thawing permafrost

Permafrost is not a natural hazard. However, if the ice in permafrost melts, the ground may become less stable, which can result in subsidence, landslides, scree or soil creep, debris flows or rockslides. We test new methods of building on mountain permafrost and draw up practice-oriented recommendations with a view to guaranteeing the technical safety of buildings at high elevations.

 

Topics

Monitoring

Permafrost measurements have confirmed that the permafrost is getting warmer, which could lead to severe ice loss and slope movements.

Building on permafrost

We test new building methods on mountain permafrost and draw up practice-oriented recommendations.

Permafrost and natural hazards

If climate change causes glaciers to melt and permafrost to thaw, there may be an increase in natural hazards.

Navigation mit Access Keys

SLF StartseitePermafrost

Permafrost

Hauptinhalt

 

Als Permafrost wird ständig gefrorener Boden bezeichnet. Taut dieser auf, drohen Naturgefahren wie Steinschlag oder Murgänge. Mit unserer Forschung in Permafrostgebieten erhalten wir wichtige Informationen über den Zustand der Permafrostböden. Unser Ziel ist es, Prozesse besser zu verstehen und Gefahren frühzeitig zu erkennen.

 

Boden wie Fels, Schutt oder Moräne, der dauernd Temperaturen unter 0°C aufweist, wird als Permafrost bezeichnet. Im Sommer erwärmt sich die oberste Schicht des Bodens oberhalb des Permafrosts über 0°C. Diese Schicht [oder dieser Bereich] nennt man die Auftauschicht. Man findet Permafrost auf gut 5 % der Schweizer Landesfläche, typischerweise in kalten und hochgelegenen Schutthalden und Felswänden oberhalb von etwa 2500 Metern über Meer. Für den Permafrost ist nicht in erster Linie die Lufttemperatur, sondern die Temperatur an der Bodenoberfläche entscheidend. Diese wird stark von der Sonneneinstrahlung und der Mächtigkeit und Dauer der Schneebedeckung beeinflusst. Permafrost ist nicht direkt sichtbar, es gibt jedoch Geländeformen, die auf Permafrost hindeuten, z.B. Blockgletscher. 

Daten aus Bohrlöchern

Seit 1996 haben wir an über zwanzig Standorten in den Schweizer Alpen Bohrlöcher im Permafrost mit Temperatur-Messinstrumenten ausgerüstet und untersuchen die darüber liegende Schneedecke. Das SLF-Permafrost-Messnetz liefert wichtige Informationen über den Zustand der Permafrostböden und hilft, die komplexen Vorgänge zwischen Oberfläche und Untergrund besser zu verstehen. Neun der SLF-Bohrlöcher sind im Schweizer Permafrost-Messnetz PERMOS enthalten, welches für das schweizweite Monitoring des Permafrosts zuständig ist. Zudem erfassen wir mit verschiedenen Vermessungsgeräten die Dynamik von Felswänden und Blockgletschern.

Auftauender Permafrost

Der Permafrost ist keine Naturgefahr. Wenn aber Permafrost-Eis in Folge klimatischer Veränderungen schmilzt, kann der Boden an Stabilität verlieren. Es kann zu Setzungen, Hangrutschungen, Kriechbewegungen, Murgängen oder Felsstürzen kommen. Um technische Sicherheit für Bauten im Hochgebirge zu gewährleisten, testen wir neue Baumethoden im Gebirgspermafrost und erstellen praxisorientierte Empfehlungen.

 

Themen

Monitoring

Messungen im Permafrost bestätigen eine Erwärmung des Permafrosts, welcher mit starkem Eisschwund und Hangbewegungen verbunden ist.

Bauen im Permafrost

Wir prüfen neue Baumethoden im Permafrost und erstellen praxisorientierte Empfehlungen.

Permafrost & Naturgefahren

Wenn infolge der Klimaerwärmung Gletscher schmelzen und Permafrostböden auftauen, drohen in den Alpen vermehrt Naturgefahren.

 

Aktuell

Die Destabilisierung von Felswänden ist das Ergebnis eines sehr langen Prozesses. Ein Dossier fasst zusammen, welche Faktoren hierbei zusammenwirken.

Für Forschungszwecke sammeln wir Angaben zu Felsstürzen in Permafrost-Gebieten. Falls Sie im Hochgebirge einen Felssturz beobachten, sind wir dankbar...