Navigation mit Access Keys

Ruth Moor-Huber, Gadmen (BE)

Main menu

  
  • Married with three adult children and 10 grandchildren
  • Municipal employee
  • SLF observer since 1988
 

As an observer, what is it exactly that you report?

I look after a measuring site that was established many years ago. It's situated just a few steps from our house in Gadmen. I measure the snow every day from 1 November until 30 April – its depth, the amount of fresh snow, the snow's water equivalent etc. I also report any avalanche observations.

How did you become an SLF observer?

My neighbour monitored the measuring site from 1954 until 1988. When she moved away, she asked me if I would take on the job. At the time, I didn't have any children and I was a housewife, so it was ideal. It was only a small job at first – recording the snow depth and amount of fresh snow in a form every day and sending the entered data to the SLF every two weeks. When the measuring programme was expanded later on, the amount of work increased. To file my readings I had to dial 110 and report the measurements orally using a special numerical code. It was a very specific routine. Then, in the mid-1990s, we switched to computers.

What do you like about this task?

It's interesting to observe how the snow quantities change throughout the winter. Gadmen is situated 1200 m above sea level and there's always snow here. We're also surrounded by avalanche-prone slopes. As a consequence, we're sometimes cut off from the outside world. My husband is a member of the municipal avalanche commission, which means he's interested in the data measurements as well.

Which aspects are less enjoyable/do you find tiresome?

It's always a relief when spring arrives. Performing measurements and reporting the results by 7.30 am every day for six months entails a commitment. I make certain that there are never any gaps – that's important to me.

What does it mean to you to be an observer?

The station has been here for such a long time that it simply has to continue. For as long as I enjoy the role, I won't think about stopping.

How easy is it to combine this task with your other work?

It's easy. Since my regular workplace is in Gadmen, I am able to take the daily measurements in the early morning.

What has been your most memorable experience relating to snow and avalanches?

The extreme winter of 1999, without question. There was so much snow that the three-metre gauge on the measuring site was completely buried. In view of the high avalanche danger, we were evacuated and spent five days in an army barracks. Avalanches caused damage in the valley, but compared to other regions we emerged relatively unscathed.

What is the personal connection between you and snow?

I grew up with snow; it's part of who I am. Winters were much more severe when I was younger. Downhill and cross-country skiing are popular here, but there aren’t many other options.

How do you like to spend your evenings/leisure time?

I enjoy looking after the grandchildren. My large family is very important to me. Skiing is another of my pleasures, and I like lazy get-togethers with friends. I also volunteer with the Samaritans and I'm a member of the First Responder team in my community.

Which is your favourite place in the world?

There’s nowhere in particular – it’s lovely everywhere, each place in its own way.

And your favourite season?

I like all of the seasons, but autumn is the best. The colours of nature create a wonderful atmosphere. We also have very little fog, and the weather here is often still mild.

Is there anything you couldn't live without?

My family and my surroundings. I couldn’t imagine moving to a town or city. I was born and raised in Gadmen – this is where I’m at home.

The SLF is celebrating the 75th anniversary of the avalanche bulletin. What does that mean to you?

The SLF plays a very important role and is a well-known institution. People always consult the avalanche bulletin before undertaking a ski tour. When the roads here have to be closed because of the avalanche danger, we are cut off from the rest of the world. The SLF is a source of knowledge.

Navigation mit Access Keys

Ruth Moor-Huber, Gadmen (BE)

Hauptinhalt

  
  • Verheiratet, 3 erwachsene Kinder und 10 Enkelkinder

  • Gemeindeangestellte

  • SLF-Beobachterin seit 1988

 

Was genau meldest du als Beobachterin?

Ich betreue ein langjähriges Messfeld. Es liegt nur wenige Schritte von unserem Haus in Gadmen entfernt. Vom 1. November bis 30. April messe ich jeden Tag den Schnee: Höhe, Neuschnee, Wasserwert usw. Ausserdem melde ich Beobachtungen von Lawinen.

Wie wurdest du SLF-Beobachterin? 

Meine Nachbarin hat die Messtelle von 1954 bis 1988 betreut. Als sie weggezogen ist, hat sie mich gefragt, ob ich die Aufgabe übernehmen will. Ich hatte damals kleine Kinder und war Hausfrau, daher war das ideal. Am Anfang war es nur eine kleine Aufgabe: Jeden Tag Schneehöhe und Neuschneemenge in ein Formular eintragen und die gesammelten Daten alle zwei Wochen ans SLF schicken. Als dann später das Messprogramm erweitert wurde, gab es mehr zu tun. Zum Melden musste ich dann die Telefonnummer 110 anrufen und meine Messungen nach einem bestimmten Zahlen-Schlüssel mündlich mitteilen. Das war sehr speziell. Mitte der 1990er kam dann die Umstellung auf den Computer.

Was gefällt dir an der Aufgabe? 

Es ist interessant zu verfolgen, wie sich die Schneemengen über den Winter verändern. Gadmen liegt auf 1200 m über Meer, es hat immer Schnee und wir sind umgeben von Lawinenhängen. So sind wir auch manchmal von der Umwelt abgeschnitten. Mein Mann ist in der Lawinenkommission der Gemeinde. Die Messdaten sind auch für ihn interessant.

Was magst du nicht/was ist mühsam?

Ich bin schon immer froh, wenn es Frühling wird. Während sechs Monaten jeden Tag die Messungen zu machen und bis halb 8 Uhr morgens zu melden, heisst auch gebunden zu sein.  Ich schaue, dass ich nie Lücken habe, das ist mir wichtig.

Was bedeutet es dir, Beobachterin zu sein?

Die Station besteht schon so lange. Da ist es einem schon wichtig, dass sie weiter besteht. Solange ich es gerne mache, ist aufhören kein Thema.

Wie gut kannst du die Aufgabe mit deiner sonstigen Tätigkeit vereinbaren?

Gut. Da ich meine Arbeitsstelle in Gadmen habe, ist es mir möglich, die täglichen Messungen am frühen Morgen zu machen.

Was war dein eindrücklichstes Erlebnis mit Schnee und Lawinen?

Das war sicher der Lawinenwinter 1999. Es gab so viel Schnee, die drei Meter hohe Messstange auf dem Messfeld war nicht mehr zu sehen. Wegen der grossen Lawinengefahr sind wir evakuiert worden und mussten fünf Tage in einer Armeeunterkunft verbringen. Im Tal gab es Schäden durch Lawinen. Uns ging es hier aber verhältnismässig gut im Gegensatz zu anderen Gebieten.

Was verbindet dich mit dem Material Schnee?

Ich bin damit aufgewachsen, Schnee gehört einfach dazu. Früher waren die Winter noch viel strenger. Hier kann man Ski fahren oder langlaufen, sonst gibt es gar nicht so viele Möglichkeiten.

Welches ist dein Lieblingsort auf der Welt?

Ich habe eigentlich keinen, auf seine Art ist es überall schön.

Was machst du gerne am Feierabend/in deiner Freizeit?

Ich hüte gern die Grosskinder. Ich habe eine grosse Familie, die mir sehr wichtig ist. Sehr gerne fahre ich auch Ski oder geniesse einen gemütlichen Höck mit Freunden. Zudem engagiere ich mich im Samariterverein und bin bei den First Respondern dabei.

Deine Lieblingsjahreszeit?

Ich mag jede Jahreszeit, aber am schönsten ist der Herbst. Die Natur ist farbig und es gibt eine tolle Stimmung. Wir haben auch wenig Nebel und oft ist es noch mild.

Worauf kannst du nicht verzichten?

Meine Familie und mein Umfeld. Ich könnte mir nicht vorstellen in eine Stadt zu ziehen. In Gadmen bin ich geboren und aufgewachsen, hier bin ich daheim.

Das SLF feiert dieses Jahr «75 Jahre Lawinenbulletin». Was bedeutet das für dich?

Das SLF hat eine sehr wichtige Aufgabe und ist bei vielen Leuten bekannt. Man schaut ja immer das Lawinenbulletin an, bevor man auf eine Skitour geht. Wenn bei uns wegen Lawinengefahr die Strassen gesperrt werden müssen, sind wir abgeschnitten von der Umwelt. Beim SLF können wir uns das Wissen holen.