Navigation mit Access Keys

Jon-Andri Bisaz, Celerina (GR)

Main menu

  
  • Married with two adult children
  • A former forester, now working in an engineering office and as a self-employed avalanche service consultant in the Upper Engadine
  • SLF observer since 2017
 

As an observer, what is it exactly that you report?

I am a regional observer; my reports span the entire Upper Engadine. One of my regular tasks is to produce snow profiles on a slope in the field.

How did you become an SLF observer?

For a long time before I became an observer, I was frequently reporting assessments and observations to the SLF. Then the Avalanche Warning Service asked if I would like to file official reports as an observer.

What do you like about this task?

I enjoy the close collaboration with the Avalanche Warning Service. There are rewards for both parties. On the one hand, the service benefits from my observations, and on the other, I am better informed because of the close contact we have. This lively interaction is also useful in the work I perform for the avalanche service.

Which aspects are less enjoyable/do you find tiresome?

Things become difficult when we have a critical avalanche situation here in the Upper Engadine. That's when I have a huge workload with the avalanche service. Continuing to file reports with the SLF at such times is a big challenge. But reverse situations can be difficult as well. A high-pressure weather system lasting for weeks on end is also tiresome because then there is little to report.

What does it mean to you to be an observer?

I associate a certain amount of pride with the job. I am proud to be part of the team and to play a useful role.

How easy is it to combine this task with your other work?

It's very easy. I undertake evaluations for the avalanche service every day, for clients such as the civil engineering authority or the Rhaetian Railway. The additional work I perform as an observer requires relatively little input.

What has been your most memorable experience relating to snow and avalanches?

There was one winter, six or seven years ago, when we had extreme amounts of snow for a long period. The highest values previously recorded in the measurement series were far exceeded. It was a very challenging time for me because I knew what was coming next. In view of the enormous quantities of snow, even large-sized avalanches were a distinct possibility. There's no call for panic in such situations of course, but decisions have to be taken, such as whether or not a road needs to be closed. Fortunately, there were no very large avalanches, but the potential certainly existed.

What is the personal connection between you and snow?

I'm fascinated by the substance and the way in which it continuously changes. No sooner is one aspect understood than new topics arise. I expect the phenomenon of gliding avalanches will continue to hold much of our attention for the next few years.

How do you like to spend your evenings/leisure time?

In wintertime my pastimes include giving skiing lessons, as well as downhill and backcountry skiing. In the summer I enjoy cycling and sailing. My favourite haunt is Lake Como because it's a lot warmer there than here in the Engadine.

Which is your favourite place in the world?

In these parts it has to be Muottas Muragl – a gorgeous region. The views are simply spectacular. It's a great feeling up there on the summit, and I enjoy observing the landscape.

And your favourite season?

I like all of the seasons and the infinite recurrence of nature's rhythms. I wouldn't want to live in the Tropics or anywhere like that.

Is there anything you couldn't live without?

My family and nature are paramount. All the things I like doing take place outdoors.

The SLF is celebrating the 75th anniversary of the avalanche bulletin. What does that mean to you?

That means a lot to me. As an institution, the SLF has been instrumental in enabling people to live as safely as possible in the mountains and in fostering tourism there as well.

Navigation mit Access Keys

Jon-Andri Bisaz, Celerina (GR)

Hauptinhalt

  
  • Verheiratet, zwei erwachsene Kinder

  • Ehemals Förster, nun angestellt in einem Ingenieurbüro und selbständig erwerbend als Berater Lawinendienst im Oberengadin

  • SLF-Beobachter seit 2017

 

Was genau meldest du als Beobachter?

Ich bin regionaler Beobachter und melde das ganze Oberengadin. Zu meinen Aufgaben gehört es auch regelmässig Schneeprofile an einem Hang im Gelände zu machen.

Wie wurdest du SLF-Beobachter? 

Ich habe schon lange Zeit bevor ich Beobachter wurde dem SLF regelmässig Einschätzungen und Beobachtungen gemeldet. Ich wurde dann von der Lawinenwarnung angefragt, ob ich nicht offiziell als Beobachter melden möchte.

Was gefällt dir an der Aufgabe? 

Mir gefällt die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit der Lawinenwarnung. Es ist ein Mehrwert für beide Seiten. Einerseits liefere ich der Lawinenwarnung meine Beobachtungen, andererseits bin ich durch den intensiven Kontakt besser informiert. Von diesem regen Austausch profitiere ich in meiner Arbeit für den Lawinendienst.

Was magst du nicht/was ist mühsam?

Schwierig ist es, wenn wir eine kritische Lawinensituation im Oberengadin haben. Dann habe ich sehr viel zu tun mit dem Lawinendienst. Während solchen Lagen auch noch für das SLF zu melden, das ist sehr herausfordernd. Aber auch das Gegenteil kann der Fall sein. Wenn wir wochenlang hochdruckbestimmtes Wetter haben, ist es mühsam, weil es nicht viel zu melden gibt.

Was bedeutet es dir, Beobachter zu sein?

Ein gewisser Stolz verbindet mich mit dieser Aufgabe. Dass ich Teil dieses Teams bin und gebraucht werde.

Wie gut kannst du die Aufgabe mit deiner sonstigen Tätigkeit vereinbaren?

Sehr gut. Für den Lawinendienst mache ich jeden Tag Beurteilungen, zum Beispiel für das Tiefbauamt oder die Rhätische Bahn. Der Mehraufwand, den ich als Beobachter leisten muss, ist verhältnismässig.

Was war dein eindrücklichstes Erlebnis mit Schnee und Lawinen?

In einem Winter vor sechs oder sieben Jahren hatten wir extrem viel Schnee, über eine längere Zeit. Die maximalen Messwerte seit Messbeginn wurden massiv überschritten. Das war sehr herausfordernd für mich. Denn ich wusste nicht, was als nächstes kommt. Mit dieser enormen Schneemenge waren auch grosse Lawinen möglich. Trotzdem darf man in solchen Situationen natürlich nicht in Panik geraten und muss beispielsweise entscheiden, ob eine Strasse geschlossen werden muss. Zum Glück sind keine sehr grossen Lawinen gekommen. Aber das Potential war da.

Was verbindet dich mit dem Material Schnee?

Mich fasziniert der Stoff, er verändert sich dauernd. Kaum hat man etwas verstanden, tauchen neue Themenfelder auf. Ich denke, dass uns die Gleitschneelawinen in den nächsten Jahren noch stark beschäftigen werden.

Was machst du gerne am Feierabend/in deiner Freizeit?

Im Winter gebe ich in meiner Freizeit Skischule, gehe selber Ski fahren oder mache Skitouren. Im Sommer fahre ich gerne Velo und ich segle auch. Am liebsten auf dem Comersee, weil es dort viel wärmer ist als bei uns im Engadin.

Deine Lieblingsjahreszeit?

Ich liebe alle Jahreszeiten, die endlose Wiederkehr der natürlichen Rhythmen. In einem Gebiet zu leben wie in den Tropen, das wäre nichts für mich.

Worauf kannst du nicht verzichten?

Ich könne nicht auf meine Familie und die Natur verzichten. Alles was ich gerne mache, findet draussen in der Natur statt.

Das SLF feiert dieses Jahr «75 Jahre Lawinenbulletin». Was bedeutet das für dich?

Das beutet sehr viel für mich. Das SLF ist ein Institut, das sehr viel gemacht hat, damit die Bevölkerung in den Bergen weitestgehend sicher leben und dass der Tourismus in den Bergen stattfinden kann.